IND vs SL: India turned the match at the last moment to win the game.

India vs Sri Lanka 2nd ODI
Deepak Chahar and Bhuvneshwar Kumar batting against Sri Lanka

IND vs SL: With India leading the series. The hosts were determined to level the series. Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first.


Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka, Bhanuka Rajapaksha, Dhananjaya de Silva, charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Shandakan, Kasun Rajitha

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav.

First innings:

It was a very good start for Sri Lanka. Both the batsman looked in good touch. Pace bowlers were not getting enough from the pitch. The first wicket fell on the 14th over. Minod Bhanuka was the man to go scoring 36 runs off 42 balls. Bhanuka Rajapaksha was out for a golden duck on the very next ball. Yuzvendra chahal was on hat-trick. Avishka Fernando reached a well-deserved 50. He was out in the 25th over off the bowling of Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Just after 10 runs, de Silva was also gone scoring 32 off 45 deliveries.

Shanaka didn’t survive long. He was bowled by Yuzvendra Chahal with just 16 runs on board. Deepak Chahar got the wicket of Hasaranga cleaned bowled. Asalanka played really well to score 65 of 68 balls. Before Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked him up on the 1st ball of the 48th over. Karunaratne was not out for 44 off 33 balls. He accelerated when Sri Lanka needed. They got to a very good fighting total of 275/9.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Yuzvendra Chahal took 3 wickets each. While Deepak Chahar got 2 wickets. With one wicket being run out.

2nd innings:

Again Prithvi Shaw started the first over with his usual way. He scored 2 boundaries in the first over. Sri Lanka went for a good bowling change to take Prithvi’s wicket. Hasaranga bowled him with his googly which Prithvi couldn’t pick. Ishan Kishan also struggled to score. With being chopped onto the stumps on the 4th ball. Shikhar was never looking in proper touch as the last match. Although he scored 29 facing 38 balls. Hasaranga LBWed him in the 12th over.

A good partnership of 50 runs broke in the 18th over when Manish Pandey was run out by Dasun Shanaka. He scored 37 runs from 31 balls. Hardik Pandya was out fourth ball duck. Dasun Shanaka took his wicket. Going past 50 Suryakumar Yadav was LBWed. He faced 44 balls. Laskan Shandakan bowled a gorgeous delivery to get SKY at 160/6. Krunal played good innings of 35 runs from 54 balls before getting bowled by Wanindu Hasaranga.

It would turn out to be the last wicket of the innings as Deepak Chahar and Buvneshwar Kumar took the match till the end to win it. Deepak scored 69 off 82 balls while Bhuvneshwar scored 19 off 22. Hasaranga bowled really well taking 3 wickets off 37 runs in his 10 overs. While Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, and Karun Rajitha took 1 wicket each.

Deepak Chahar was awarded the man of the match.

Watch the highlights Ind vs Sl 2nd ODI here.