CPL 2021: St Kitts and Nevis Patriots wins maiden title.

CPL 2021: St kitts and Nevis patriots wins madien title

CPL 2021 Final, SLK vs SKN highlights: St Kitts and Nevis Patriots won their maiden Caribbean Premier League by defeating Saint Lucia Kings by three wickets on Wednesday evening.

The 2021 edition of the CPL came to a close with an exciting contest between the Saint Lucia Kings and St Kitts and Nevis Patriots on Wednesday, Thursday, September 15 at the Warner Park in St Kitts. The game went right down to the last ball and in the end, the Patriots won by three wickets. Dominic Drakes’ unbeaten 24-ball 48 took them over the line in the thrilling encounter.

Lineups for CPL 2021 finals. Twitter.
Lineups for CPL 2021 finals. Twitter.

It was also the first time that the Patriots got their hands on the prestigious trophy. The tournament began last month with an exciting match between Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinbago Knight Riders and the rest of the games that followed didn’t disappoint. However, both teams were knocked out of the tournament after defeats in the semis against the Patriots and the Kings.

Barbados Royals were disappointed a lot as they finished at the bottom of the points table. But they ended their campaign with a win over the Kings. Glenn Phillips and Kyle Mayers took them over the line in their last league game. Jason Holder couldn’t make the impact he was expected to as the skipper. Jamaica Tallawahs failed to live up to the massive expectations we well.

They started their campaign with a 120-run win over the Kings at Warner Park. But they lost their way and slumped to defeats in six of their last nine matches. Kennar Lewis, Migael Pretorius, and Imad Wasim did well for them, but the trio lacked support big time.

Watch the highlights of CPL 2021 highlights. HERE.


Prize Money details of CPL 2021.

Winners: St Kitts and Nevis Patriots: Rs 7.5 crore

Runners-up: St Lucia Kings: Rs 4.8 crore

Player of the match (CPL 2021 Final): Dominic Drakes (St Kitts and Nevis Patriots Rs 73,500)

Player of the tournament: Roston Chase (St Lucia Kings, 446 runs at 49.55, 10 wickets, Rs 3.6 lakh)

Other Awards

Most wickets in CPL 2021: Ravi Rampaul (Trinbago Knight Riders 19 wickets, Rs 2.2 lakh)

Most runs in CPL 2021: Roston Chase (St Lucia Kings, 446, Rs 2.2 lakh)

Most 6s in CPL 2021: Evin Lewis (St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, 38, Rs 2.2 lakh)

Biggest 6 of CPL 2021: Chris Gayle (St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, Rs 73,500)

Best celebration of CPL 2021: Jeavor Royal (St Lucia Kings, Rs 73,500)

1 Comment

Comments are closed