Magnus Carlsen could not play the next World Chess Championship.

World Chess Championship: Magnus Carlsen.

World Chess Championship: At the recent closure of FIDE World Chess Championship 2021, GM Magnus Carlsen hints at not playing the next World Chess Championship.

The next World Chess Championship is in 2023, and he has plenty of time to rest and get himself together. However, his statements are appealing to do so.

The Candidates Tournament is scheduled for June 2022, and the next world championship is tentatively planned for early 2023. The reigning champion might not be part of it. He held Ian Nepomniachtchi or say destroyed him with a one-sided 4-0 victory with 3 games remaining.

World Chess Championship: Magnus Carlsen.
Magnus Carlsen.

At the press conference after game 11, Magnus Carlsen was asked a tricky question of whether he expects to eventually let go of his title on his own terms or by losing to a new challenger. To which Norweigen replied “First of all, that’s a very good question. I cannot answer it right now.”

However, a few days later, He was seen being interviewed in a podcast by Magnus Barstad. He made sure to clarify that he will only play the World Chess Championship if Alireza Firouzja wins the 2022 candidates.

“If someone other than Firouzja wins the Candidates Tournament, it is unlikely that I will play the next world championship match,” Carlsen said. “Then I think I can say that I am happy.”

World Chess Championship: Magnus Carlsen and Ian Nepomniachtchi.
Magnus Carlsen and Ian Nepomniachtchi.

The World Chess Championship win is not giving Magnus the vibe.

What is the reason for such an act? He is competitive even in an unrated online game so what is it that he is thinking of not playing the FIDE World Chess Championship?

The answer lies in the post-tournament conference. He no longer feels the thrill and joy of winning have been diminished and not the same as before.

Magnus Carlsen: “It has been clear to me for most of the year that this world championship match should be the last. It does not mean as much anymore as it once did. I have not felt that the positive has outweighed the negative. I want to quit when I am at my best.”

His decision to not play was changed from the arrival of GM Alireza Firouzja at the top level. “I have to say I was really impressed with his performance in the Grand Swiss and in the European Team Championship, and I would say that motivated me more than anything else.”

World Chess Championship: Magnus Carlsen.
Magnus Carlsen.

Is Magnus to quit chess?

No, is the straightforward answer. Magnus Carlsen will be defending his rapid and blitz title in Warsaw. It’s just that the long format now feels to him a little bit tedious.

“I will continue to play chess; it gives me a lot of joy. Already in the middle of the world championship here in Dubai, I started to look forward to playing the world rapidly and blitz this Christmas,” said Magnus Carlsen.

He is not quitting classical chess either, and he is determined to break that elusive but achievable goal of the 2900 Elo rating.

“I have never had it as a goal before because I felt that it was too difficult. I have improved my rating again a bit now, to 2865, and it is at least a goal you can set. It does not feel completely impossible, but at the same time, I know that I have to be on top every time I play. There is no room for error. It is something to motivate oneself for.”

World Chess Championship: Alireza Firouzja.
Alireza Firouzja.

What happens if Firouzja fails to qualify?

If Firouzja fails to win the Candidates, we might see a repeat of the scenario in 1975, when the chess world got a new world champion without the reigning champion losing a match.

The 11th world champion Bobby Fischer forfeited his title after failing to agree with FIDE on the details for a match against Anatoly Karpov, who was then awarded the title.

However, in the modern chess world, it will not be a straightforward win for the winner of the Candidate’s tournament. But the World Chess Championship will be played between the winner and runners-up of the Candidates 2022. Source (


Comments are closed