IND vs SA: KL Rahul to lead India in ODI’s.

India vs Namibia, T20 World Cup 2021: KL Rahul

IND vs SA 2021: Following an injury, Rohit Sharma has been ruled out from the ODI series against South Africa. In his absence, KL Rahul will be leading the Indian team.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah has been named as vice-captain of the team for the three-match series. Chetan Sharma, BCCI’s chief selector, told in a press conference, “We decided not to send him because he can work on his muscles. Needs to get 100 percent fit for World Cup. All selectors had a good chat with Rohit.”

The 18-member squad includes senior opening batter Shikhar Dhawan and also has the likes of Ruturaj Gaekwad, Suryakumar Yadav, and Ishan Kishan. Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, and Venkatesh Iyer have been named in the squad and they will form India’s strong middle order.

In the spin department, Ravichandran Ashwin returns after some time now. Along with him, Yuzvendra Chahal is also making a comeback and so does Wahington Sunder.

Along with Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, and Mohammed Siraj are also included. The Bengal-born speedster, Mohammed Shami, is rested.

All-rounder Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja will also join Mohammed Shami but because of injury.

India’s squad for South Africa ODIs: KL Rahul (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj.