Ireland vs South Africa 2nd ODI: Ireland win against South Africa is a statement.

Ireland vs South Africa 2nd ODI
Ireland Batting vs South African pace attack

Ireland is hosting the South African team. The first ODI between Ireland vs South Africa was abandoned due to rain. But Ireland had so much positive to take from that game as they batted a bit slow but consistently against the South African pace attack. For that reason, this 2nd ODI had that excitement. And well it did not disappoint.

Ireland scoring 290/5.

The South African captain Trevor Bavuma and Irish captain Andrew Balbirnie went for the toss. Bavuma won the toss and decided to bowl first. You can look at the squads for the game here. Ireland batsmen opening the innings started steadily. At a score of 64, the left-arm spinner, Keshav Maharaja bowled Paul Sterling for 27. On the other end, the Irish skipper was batting beautifully. The partnership of 60 runs broke when Tabraiz Shamsi LBWed Andy Mcbrine on 30 runs. The skipper scored 102 from 117 deliveries with 10 fours and 2 sixes before departing. Kagiso Rabada took his wicket and broke the 70 runs partnership.

The next wicket will fall in the last over of Harry Tector hitting 79 off 68 balls. Another wicket fell in the last over of the dangerous-looking George Dockrell scoring 45 from just 23 balls with 5 boundaries and 2 sixes. Ireland finished the innings with a score of 290/5. Andile Phehlukwayo took 2 wickets on the last over. Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Keshav Maharaha took 1 wicket each.

South Africa only managed to get 247, before being all out.

The South African Innings started with Aiden Markram leaving early making only 5 runs from 13 balls. The South African skipper, Trevor Bavuma, played only 20 balls before being dismissed by Joshua Little at the score of 10 runs. Van Der Dussen and Janneman Malan erected a partnership of 108 runs before George Dockrell dismissed the opener, Janneman Malan, scoring 84 runs from 96 balls with 7 boundaries and 4 sixes. In the very next over Andy Mcbrine got the wicket of Van Der Dussen who was batting on 49 from 70 deliveries. Then it was a wicket fest for the home team as they bowled out the visitors and winning the match by 43 runs. Mark Adair, Joshua Little, and Andy Mcbrine took 2 wickets each. While Craig Young, Simmi Singh, and George Dockrell took 1 wicket each.

1 Comment

Comments are closed