IND vs NZ: Surya replaces Rahul for the tests.

IND vs NZ: KL Rahul.

IND vs NZ 2021, Tests: After a comprehensive T20I’s India are ready to complete a series whitewash in the two-match Test series as well.

The recent T20 vice-captain of India is ruled out of the Test series against New Zealand due to a muscle strain on his left thigh. Suryakumar Yadav is added to the squad just two days before the Kanpur Test begins.

IND vs NZ: Suryakumar Yadav.
Suryakumar Yadav.

BCCI has decided that the 29-year-old will take rehabilitation at NCA and will prepare for the South Africa tour starting next month.

No Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Rishabh Pant in the squad, and now Rahul too will be unavailable. Ajinkya Rahane will be leading the Indian side.

IND vs NZ: Shubman Gill, Mohammed Siraj, and Suryakumar Yadav.
Shubman Gill, Mohammed Siraj, and Suryakumar Yadav.

IND vs NZ: Shubman Gill will open.

KL Rahul’s Injury puts a full stop to the rumors of Shubman Gill’s middle-order tryout. It will now Gill and Mayank to open for India in the first Test if not both.

Wriddhiman Saha will be playing as the WK in Pant’s absence. There is no doubt about his keeping ability but it’s that batting is a bit off as compared to Pant or his back now for this series Srikar Bharat.

IND vs NZ: New pace attack.

With Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami resting, Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Siraj will be the strike bowlers.

Ishant Sharma and Prasidh Krishna will be fighting for the third-pace bowler spot if India decides to play three pacers. Prasidh Krishna should play ahead of Ishant as he is younger than the Delhi veteran.

IND vs NZ: Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane.
Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane.

Pujara and Rahane has to prove themselves again.

Time is critical for the veterans because of the youngsters backing up after them for their turn. Especially Rahane is out of sync with his bat. His last 11 matches haven’t gone too well as he is averaging just 19. He is immensely talented and has performed for the side in the past but now it’s do or die for him as the pressure is building.

Talking about Saurashtra’s test specialist, Cheteshwar Pujara, his situation is a little different. Everybody hailed his fearless approach at the end of the England tour but still, his consistency is a bit doubtful. He will also be in limelight.

IND vs NZ: predicted 11 for both teams.

India: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (C), Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell/Will young.


Comments are closed